Topic 5 Reflection

What I learnt this week-2.png

Above is a quick summary of what I learnt this week. This week’s topic was talking about open access and I found this topic especially challenging. As a student, I require access to a wide variety of material, but only at certain points in the year. I would ideally like to be able to access what I need when I need it for free. However, after reading others takes on the topic, there is so much more to take into account.

Alice’s blog post focused on the advantages and disadvantages of open access and concluded that she felt the advantages of open access outweighed the disadvantages. I asked Alice if she felt content providers should be rewarded more for their efforts. The main reason being is that I spoke about paywalls and I feel this is the best solution for students such as myself. It offers a compromise, where there is a limit to what you can use a month before you pay for any more content that you use.

Tiffany’s post this week was really interesting, I loved how she incorporated the idea of YouTube into her post. Everyone uses YouTube and everyone just expects to be able to see it all for free. She also offers the question, is it ethical to determine who has the right to knowledge by placing extortionate monetary barriers? I feel this is a great question to ask, personally I would have to say although content producers spend a great majority of their time researching and writing papers I feel as though everyone should have access to these papers.

Overall, this topic was difficult as there is a lot to take into account, but, it was also difficult to balance the posts this week with other assignments. I look forward to writing my final post with the freedom of the Christmas holidays.

topic-5-reflect_883_7f2b3e4bc5f1009e5ef4b5361b792e8a9b0a4f0b

(use link to view piktochart larger) https://magic.piktochart.com/output/19084242-topic-5-reflection

Word Count: 309

Top image ref: http://libguides.qub.ac.uk/openaccess

 

Leave a Reply

